Fit Fajitas

For the past few months, I’ve been on a serious grilling kick! I like to try to have a dinner that involves meat or some type of protein and veggies- something that will keep me full and satisfied but not stuffed. I’ve found that grilling is a fun way to keep me eating healthy meals. Usually, I grill extra so that I have easy and delicious leftovers for the next day as well. The other night, I was cooking for more than just two and so I decided to get a little creative. My sister has found a recipe for fajitas that sounded good so I thought I would give it a try.

This is a seriously simple recipe!

What You’ll Need:

  • Lean, boneless, skinless, chicken breast meat (I used the ” chicken tender” size and then cut a breast peice into strips as well.
  • Red and Green bell peppers
  • Red Onion
  • 1 Lime
  • Cilantro
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Lettuce cups

Sprinkle the chicken breast with the cayenne pepper (to taste or desired spiciness). Squeeze the desired amount of lime juice over the chicken and add some zest from the lime as well. Let sit for about 30 minutes to soak up all of the flavor.

Cut up the bell peppers and onion into thin slices. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Wrap in tin foil.

Place chicken and tin foil of peppers and onion on grill until well cooked!

I used lettuce cups to wrap the fajitas instead of tortillas to make it healthier! Top with salsa or cheese and cilantro and enjoy!!

xxx SSG

20121121-103044.jpg

Leave a Reply

