Protein Berry Superfood Smoothie

Good morning! It’s Saturday morning and I am up and at ’em already. I’m usually a morning person anyways but today I’m especially peppy. One thing that does the trick to get me going and energized is my superfood smoothie. I make one almost everyday. I mix it up constantly but for the most part, many of my ingredients are the same.

My favs right now are maca powder, raw cocoa powder, vegan power smoothie protein powder in vanilla, chia seeds, acai powder, and super greens or wheat grass powder.

I know I know, seems like a lot and probably more complicated than it is worth, but take yourself over to your nearest Whole Foods and you’ll find all of it in one aisle. It is worth it!

I like to use frozen berries because its cheaper than fresh fruit and it eliminates the need for a bunch of ice which can make your smoothie icy or watered down. Somedays tho, I omit the fruit and just make a lighter liquid drink. I also add in flax seed or flax seed oil too.

To make:
1 cup almond or coconut milk or coconut water
1 tbsp raw cocoa powder
1/2 tbsp chia seeds
1 tbsp maca powder
1/2 tbsp acai berry powder
(1 tbsp flax seed)
1 – 1 1/2 cup frozen berries
1 1/12 tbsp raw vegan protein powder
1 tbsp super greens powder

Put all ingredients (or more/ less if you like) into blender and blend until smooth. Then enjoy!

With the protein from the powder and the almond milk, the green goodness you’re getting (which is like a serving of green veggies) and the fiber from the fruit, you’ll feel good but not stuffed and you’ll stay satisfied longer throughout the morning. Sometimes, I especially like these after a work out. It replenishes my body and gives me the protein I need to help my muscles.

20121110-092749.jpg

xxx SSG

Leave a Reply

